top of page
  • Writer's pictureNamrakant Tamrakar

Code Cleanup!

Here is the update for last 2 weeks. In the first week, I updated the finger controls to FK/IK and fixed some of the little issues with the rig and presented a demo in my class for feedbacks. Got feedbacks such as documenting the process to run the scripts, making the procedural rig more flexible and for quadruped characters as well. I was uncomfortable sharing the scripts with everyone at that time because it had a lots of dead codes and it needed some more comments just in case someone else wanted to understand it or wanted to add to it.


I decided to go with creating a user interface for this using pyside2 and will learn from Chris Zurbrigg's tutorial which is not a follow-along tutorial. Hoping to get an understanding of PyQt library as well.


The second week, I cleaned the code so that I can share it with everyone in the class and I uploaded at Github as well. The code looks beautiful now but I need to remove the constants from it, which will mostly be covered when I'll be creating a UI for it. Also, I thought of showing off the rig, so I spent some time on making a walk cycle and it looks like this!

While animating it, I felt the need of a foot-roll and I will see how I can add that functionality. But overall, I was able to animate it without much problem. The issue while creating a footroll will be that I will need a few more transform nodes in the base rig to identify the location of the pivot. I would like to find some other ways to create it procedurally. I think, I can also try to add space switching for head, arms and legs (not sure if animators use it frequently).


Also, currently, the finger controls have the FK/IK switch as 5 separate attributes at the arm FK/IK switch control. Not sure which is the easiest way for animators to use. Next week, I'll update you with my first experience with Pyside2.


Peace!

bottom of page