top of page
  • Writer's pictureNamrakant Tamrakar

FK-IK switch for legs and arms

This was a week where I struggled with creating the FK IK switch, mostly because I am not following any tutorials. It actually feels satisfying and I'm happy with that. Finished the FK-IK switch for legs and arms, but couldn't finish it for the fingers. That will be finished next week along with organization for the finger controls.

I found a couple of issues, one of which was when I created a controller and parented it under the joint directly, Maya was selecting the shape node when I was trying to select the controller. I needed to select the transform node of that controller. I couldn't find the root cause but I use parent constraint for that and it worked like a charm!


Another issue, not Maya/python related, was that I copied my leg code in hand code and was doing the replace for legs to hands and my IDE (visual studio code) actually showed me a popup which I ignored and later realized that it was replaced in all of my files, not only on the current file. So, I had to find the replaced content in every file and had to fix all the files, since Undo doesn't work when changes are made in multiple files at a time. I would have cried at that moment, but I decided to finish it before the end of the day.


That's it for the week. I found another interesting blog, check it out. It talks about a lot of things related to technical art.


Peace!

bottom of page